Nebraska State Government

May 30, 1854 is the birthday that was given to the Nebraskan territory by US Congress, which then consisted of parts of Colorado, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming and Montana. Native Americans were eventually forced from these lands and moved into reservations.  Nebraska Omaha Flag american IndianIt officially became the 37th state on March 1, 1867; eventually moving their capital to Lancaster and changing the city’s name to Lincoln, after the late president. By 1880, the states population had quickly grown to approximately 450,000 people. Where now, the population is estimated at approximately 1,900,000.


Nebraska is known for production of beef, corn, soybeans, pork and more. The National Arbor Day Foundation was established and is still headquartered in Nebraska City, Nebraska. The city of Omaha has a long-standing history in civil rights activism and is home to the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.Nebraska Omaha NAACP With that, Native American activism has been going strong since the late 1900s, eventually working with the local government in regards to regional matters for the state and its surrounding neighbors.


The Nebraska State Government is ruled by the Nebraska Constitution, which was established in 1875. This constitution functions with a three-branch system made up of a judicial, legislative and executive branch


Elected officials (including the state governor) serve a four-year term within the executive branch. “Senators” rule the legislative branch of Nebraska’s government system. It is the only state to adopt this custom. The group is nonpartisan and can override a governor’s veto by a three-fifths majority vote. This unicameral legislature has evolved to control bills in that they can only contain one subject and given a minimum of five days for consideration. The states judicial branch is unified and fully managed by the Nebraska Supreme Court system. Judges are selected by the Missouri Plan, which evaluates best-qualified candidates to fill open positions within the system, as these courts are county courts and 12 district courts that govern a varying number of counties. Finally, the Court of Appeals manages appeals from district, juvenile, and workers compensation, while the Supreme Court is the last means.


A primarily Republican dominated state for most years, the elected officials currently are:


Ben Sasse (Senator)


Deb Fischer (Senator)


Jeff Fortenberry (Congress 1st District)


Brad Ashford (Congress 2nd District)


Adrian Smith (Congress 3rd District)


49 Legislative Districts for Unicameral Legislature


Pete Ricketts (Governor)


Mike Foley (Lieutenant Governor)


John Gale (Secretary of State)


Don Steinberg (Treasurer)


Charlie Janssen (Auditor)


Doug Peterson (Attorney General)


Local government consists of the Primary Civil Division for the County, the Minor Civil Division for township and precinct, and incorporated municipalities.


Local PBS Station


Other Articles relating to Nebraska’s political well being


The present climate of Nebraska’s well being is driven by financial budgeting and balancing of priorities in order to better serve the State. As the fiscal year ends on June 30th, there will be a number of changes in effect to try and help the state to bounce back from its current budget crisis.


Speculation states that the area can easily sustain itself and recover from the lack of financial growth that was projected to develop over the past year, but there are going to be a lot of hard decisions that need to be made in order to fairly prioritize the budget cuts that need to take place in order to adapt to the present climate.


Visit the specific government officials web site of your choice to see their opinions on the current situations that dominate Nebraska’s way of life, or be a part of the political system and reach out to these elected officials directly with your ideas and concerns.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *